McAlister Matheson Music


Monday – Friday: 9.30am – 7.45pm

Saturday: 9am – 7.45pm

Sunday: 4pm – 7.45pm

Welcome to the McAlister Matheson Music website! Our aim is to present customers with a selection of the best recordings from the vast catalogue of available discs. On this website you will find hundreds of excellent recordings that we have reviewed ourselves, our current Top Ten best-sellers, recent Gramophone’s Editor Choice discs, and details of current special offers. UK customers can purchase these discs from us post-free via this site using the secure PayPal facility.

Other recordings can, of course, be purchased from us by contacting us directly. Members of our discount scheme should now be able to obtain their discount by clicking on the new ‘Apply your membership discount’ button at the top right corner of the page.

If you would like to subscribe to our popular free monthly e-newsletter, please use the sign-up box at the bottom of the page.

We will be expanding the site and adding many extra features over the coming weeks and months. In the meantime, we would welcome any comments and suggestions about the site that you might have.

Rachmaninov: Vespers – B...

Rachmaninov: Vespers - Brown; Vanderwal; Saint Thomas Choir / Scott

Reger: 4 Sonatas for Solo Viol...

Reger: 4 Sonatas for Solo Violin - Wallin

James MacMillan ...

MacMillan: Since it was the day of Preparation ... - Hebrides Ensemble; Synergy Vocals; Brindley Sherratt

Scottish Ensemble

Debussy & Takemitsu for strings - Scottish Ensemble / Morton

MM Music Top 10


Nicola Benedetti plays Shostakovich & Glazunov Violin Concertos

In the July issue of Gramophone, Nicola Benedetti articulated some of the most honest, considered an...


Read more


MacMillan: Since it was the day of Preparation … – Hebrides Ensemble; Synergy Vocals; Brindley Sherratt

This work received its world premiere performance in Greyfriars Kirk during the 2012 Edinburgh Inter...


Read more


Butterworth: Orchestral works – Rutherford; BBC National Orchestra of Wales / Russman

George Butterworth was an English composer of great promise. When studying classics at Oxford he spe...


Read more


Gaudeamus Igitur – John Kitchen plays the organ of The McEwan Hall

Delphian stalwart John Kitchen has now served for thirteen years as Edinburgh City Organist and t...


Read more


Dowland: Lachrimae, or Seaven Teares – Elizabeth Kenny; Phantasm

John Dowland’s gifts as an exceptional melodist are evident throughout Lachrimae or Seven Tears...


Read more


Granada 1013-1526 – Hespèrion XXI, La Capella Reial de Catalunya / Jordi Savall

Jordi Savall examines 500 years of history in this portrait of a city that symbolises like no oth...


Read more


125 Years of the RSNO

Officially founded in 1891 as the Scottish Orchestra, the RSNO has sustained a wonderfully high stan...


Read more


Bellini: Norma – Bartoli; Orchestra La Scintilla / Antonini

For generations Bellini’s “Norma” has been looked at from the vantage point of the Verismo ...


Read more


Rachmaninov: Etudes-Tableaux & Moments Musicaux – Boris Giltburg

Giltburg’s previous ventures on Naxos (Schumann and Beethoven) gave a hint at his deep artistr...


Read more


The Art of Végh Quartet

This unique collection features the famous complete cycles of Beethoven’s and Bartók’s Strin...


Read more